Wiring CB radio to cigarette lighter adapter? (help)

• HTML tutorial

XPlore

Rank III
Launch Member

Advocate II

Lomita
Member #

Hi guys! I am pretty new to setting up my own radios and was wondering how I would set up the CB wires to the cigarette lighter adapter pictured.

Do I just crimp it? Will I need more pieces? I am pretty new to all this so I apologize in advance if it's something really simple!
2017-05-07 17.26.20.jpg 2017-05-07 17.26.27.jpg

Reactions: Luis Merlo

4xFar Adventures

Rank VI
Founder 500
Launch Member

Benefactor

San Francisco,CA
First Name
Brenton
Last Name
Corns
Member #

Technically, yes you could crimp the terminal ends on the wire. But to do it the proper way, what you need are 2 male bullet connectors and crimp them onto the bare wires of the CB. Then you can just plug them into the cig adapter and wrap each wire with electrical tape around the connector. If you crimp the wire on, and have to remove it later, you'll have to cut the connectors off.

Reactions: XPlore

TerryD

Rank VI
Launch Member

Member III

Covington, Virginia, USA
First Name
Terry
Last Name
R
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
KT4OZ
That will work, but you would be well served to look into Power Poles and using them for the connections. In the future they could prove to be very useful for other means of communication.

It's also a good practice to use a fuse in both power leads. If you have a circuit loose a ground path through the body and decide to use your antenna coax back through the radio, your finals will be cooked without the fuse in the ground lead of the radio.

XPlore

Rank III
Launch Member

Advocate II

Lomita
Member #