Launch Member

Member III

New Mexico
First Name
Jay
Last Name
M
Member #

Watching the skid pad video a few times, it appears he was having to counter understeer through overly-aggressive steering angles. Then, when the front wheels caught (i.e. potentially when slightly reducing throttle), it caused an oversteering tendency, which was difficult to counter because the rear end was already coming around before he could get the steering wheel cranked back the other direction. Science checks!

That said, I have been doing motorsports for a couple decades now, and I know what it looks like when somebody is maybe not doing everything they can to not get sideways. And, to be honest, watching the front wheels and his steering inputs inspired some noslalgia in that regard ;) .

Desert Runner

Rank VII
Launch Member

Expedition Master III

Southern Nevada
First Name
Jerold
Last Name
F.
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
/GMRS=WREA307
When i was just a lad, my father bought a brand new 1967 Dodge(D200/3/4 ton) 2 wheel drive pickup. We went everywhere in that truck. He purchased the 4x2 wheel vs the 4x4, because people told him the 4x system would lock up if not used enough. Being his first truck ever, he listened to that advise, and regretted not getting the 'Power Wagon' instead. I remember many times digging trenches and throwing rocks under the rear wheels to get unstuck.

My first pickup was a 4x4, as were my subsequent ones. The adage better to have and not need than not have and need always stuck with me. It has been true a few times.

Dilldog

Rank V
Launch Member
Investor

Influencer I

Spokane, WA.
First Name
Dillon
Last Name
Wilke
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
KJ7LVO/ WRQL275
Service Branch
USAF