Loveland, Colorado
First Name
Tom
Last Name
Houston
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
WØNUT Extra
I am a working engineer with 40+ years of fabricating, wheeling, and expeditions. I am interested in finding out who out there is into fabrication.

Over the years I have built about anything you can imagine. I built my daily driver/rock crawler/expedition vehicle, a 1985 Jeep Cherokee. It has the first 4.7L stroker in Colorado (1998), Dana 44s locked front and rear on 35's. I fab'd all the bumpers, skids, and boat sides. I have a full wood and metal shop with CNC.

I just finished my latest project, a offroad teardrop. It is steel framed on air bags on 31's.

How many other compulsive fabricators are out there?

Last edited:

professorkx

Rank IV

Pathfinder I

I expect there are a lot of fabricators on this site, in all skill levels. I think the biggest variable would be accessible tool and someone who taught them. I have a well equipped shop, so fabricate everything. First motor swap when i was 20 or so in 1981, v8 swapped into a 1942 flat fender.

20150905_090639.jpg

Other projects over the years;

Built my 10 inch stretch chopper
20140717_163157.jpg

Converted a cj5 from leaf springs to 4 link rear and 3 link front suspension with 35 inch king shocks. Last weekend, i used a Toyota front torsion bar to build a rear swaybar for this jeep as well.
20160228_165527.jpg

20160228_165417.jpg
Converted my son's 2008 jeep 4 door from a v6 to a 5.7 hemi v8 this summer.

This winter stretching the frame 26 inches on my 1947 cj3 (already has a v6 and 4 speed) and shortening the body to make it into a small truck with a 104 inch wheelbase. I did the original work and 76 corvette yellow paint 20 years ago, still looks good...
20170303_065911.jpg

Built my own toy hauler
20150411_123601.jpg