Launch Member

Enthusiast III

Rochester, MN, USA
First Name
Alex
Last Name
L
Member #

I might have to give that a try one of these weekends when nothing else is going on! Sounds like a fun experiment.
Get a 102" whip and tune 10-40m.
That would be cool... But I'm not sure it's practical for my daily driver
A shorter CB antenna would probably work as well but maybe not as good.
I have a 2' firestik as well as a 5' one. I'll have to give them a try.

For serious attempts at HF I have the chameleon MPAS. I haven't spent a lot of time using it as I'm relatively new to HF, but I like it so far!

Reactions: Prerunner1982

Michael Golden

Rank VI

Explorer I

Tampa Fl
First Name
Michael
Last Name
Golden
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
KG4BCN
Service Branch
U.S. Army
I left CB radio behind a long time ago. I just got tired of the potty mouth individuals out there all the time. Overlanding or traveling with family "especially with children" is supposed to be enjoyable without having your loved ones subjected to foul language. I went the ham radio direction and have recently started working with GMRS.

ThundahBeagle

Rank V

Advocate I

Massachusetts
First Name
Andrew
Last Name
Beagle
Member #

CBs aren't anywhere near as chatty as they used to be, even on the big roads, and you'll go for days sometimes not hearing another soul.

Though they are still very handy, as has been noted in this thread, for backcountry places like the NMW and other deep forests where there are logging trucks. They have the right of way, and will come barreling around gravel corners and catch you off-guard. Some drivers will announce their location, and it's wise to announce yours if you're in a four-wheeler.