Rank IV

Member II

Newport, NH, USA
First Name
Lisa
Last Name
Clivio
Member #

I’m new to off roading and I’m in the process of getting my truck fixed and setting it up for some camping trips. I’ve watched a lot of videos about what tools abs recovery gear to bring but I can’t find much training on these topics unless you’re willing to spend on $300 on a weekend training session. Are there every any local meetups to help with teaching basic repairs and recovery? How does one go about getting trained with zero mechanical experience? All of trainings I have seen cost over $300. I’m not opposed to paying but I didn’t know if any local groups ever meet up to do some if this. I’m located in NH. Thanks!

Reactions: El-Dracho

El-Dracho

Ambassador, Europe
Supporter
Investor

Inventor I

Lampertheim, Germany
First Name
Bjoern
Last Name
Eldracher
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
DO3BE
Hi Lisa,

I am sure there are members here who will be happy to help you gain practical experience on this topic. Maybe something like a meetup/ training is already planned in your region. You can have a look at the Rally Points and check for events in your region.
Based in Europe, I don't have an overview of what could be planned in your region or what ideas are there. I think @Kent R could help you further.

Greetings from across the pond
Bjoern

Reactions: Bostongal62

Advocate I

Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
First Name
James
Last Name
Girard
Member #

I have always found that the easiest way to learn is get hands on experience. depending on what you are looking to learn it may be as easy as pulling something apart to find out how it works and then putting it back together. Knowing how things work, the parts involved and what they do is key to knowing how to fix an issue if it comes up. This also helps if you need to Macgyver something up to get you off a trail or get you home.