Dave
Last Name
Ballard
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
N7XQP
Service Branch
Fire/EMS/SAR
I just finished my Lithium Battery heating project and documented it all with words and pictures
. Hope it helps someone moving in this direction....

LITHIUM BATTERY HEATING PROJECT | RVB Precision
I used a pair of small heat pads under the battery in the rear of my Jk, placed sound mat on the plywood base, and then the pads were installed on top of that with the battery sitting directly on them. RedARC redvision system monitors the battery temp and will switch the heating pads on if the temp drops below 35 and back off once it reaches 40. Then I have a master to switch the heaters off when i am not using the rig to avoid draining the battery. other than testing with the batter in the freezer I have not yet used in the field. heading off into the mountains for a 10 day trip friday will see how it works.

reaver

Rank VI

Explorer I

Caldwell, ID, USA
First Name
Brian
Last Name
McGahuey
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
GMRS WRMV941
I basically did the same thing, only I just decided to use the built in thermostat. I went with a lower amperage pad, that switches on at about 35-37 and should shut off at about 50 F. I tested it in the freezer, and dit seemed to work well. I wired an inline switch with my pad, so that I can shut it off when not using it it.

Overland True North

Rank III
Launch Member

Enthusiast III

Girard, OH, USA
First Name
Don
Last Name
Cur
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
N1DON