Launch Member

Steward III

Auburn, CA, USA
First Name
Jade
Last Name
Sotelo
Member #

Hey guys wanting some advice on handheld HAM radios with pros and cons!

Just starting to get into it and I am having trouble finding a handheld that suits me.

Also side note does anyone know where I can get my HAM license? Been having trouble getting direction.

Thanks again guys really appreciate the support and assistance.

RoarinRow

Rank V
Launch Member

Member III

Elk Grove, CA, USA
First Name
Rolando
Last Name
Nispiros
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
KN6JJS
I'll start off by saying I'm no expert. I just got my license earlier this year right when we were hit with COVID.

The first place almost everyone recommends is Ham Study . org - HamStudy.org: Cutting edge amateur radio study tools It's a great research for study aids. It gives you the question and answer as well as practice tests.
Since I was going for my Technician license I also picked up this digital book from Amazon. There's also plenty of Ham study videos on YouTube.

While all this was happening I picked up Baofeng Ham radio just so I can get familiar with the settings/options, etc. which help reinforced some things I read at Ham Study and also the digital book

After passing the Ham Study practice test with at least a 90% or more passing (several times. Each time you take the practice tests the questions are somewhat/are different since it takes the questions from a pool of 456 possible questions, even though you only answer 35 in the actual test). The digital book has the Ham questions and answers in a more logical sequence and grouping, as compared to randomized Q&A from the Ham Study site, then I felt confident to 'Find a Session' for online Ham exams that were offered at the time. The 'Find a Session' link is also on the Ham Study site, top right of page.

After passing the test and reading up more on Ham radios I picked up this unit - Yaesu FT3DR.