Can you use soft shackles with any rear hitch receiver?

• HTML tutorial

cnyc31

Rank 0

Contributor I

Santa Fe, NM, USA
First Name
Christian
Last Name
Monsen
Hi guys,

I'm totally new to overloading and this is my first post. I searched online in ih8mud and this forum but I wasn't able to find an answer so I am pointing here. I hope I am asking in the right section.

My wife and I just bought a 2007 LX470. We are slowly building our rig and I have a newbie question about connecting a soft shackle into the rear hitch receiver.

I want to connect an ARB snatch strap to my rear hitch using a soft shackle. The question is, can I connect a soft shackle into a normal receiver hitch? Or do I need to get a specialized receiver that can handle both soft and hard shackles?

For example, can I attach a soft shackle to this smittybilt 2 inch rear receiver hitch? (not on the d-ring but into the receiver itself)
Smittybilt 29312B Receiver Hitch D-Ring with 3/4-Inch Shackle for 2-Inch Receivers

Or should I get a specialized hitch like the factor 55 one?
Factor 55 00020-04 HitchLink 2.0 Reciever Shackle Mount 2 Inch Receivers Black

Thank you so much!

Trail_pilot

Rank III

Enthusiast III

First Name
James
Last Name
Girard
If it is set up for a D-ring I would say yes you can use it with any other brand of setup I just wouldn't use it with the hitch pin in the hole in the hitch. I know some people do but I really wouldn't recommend it. Rugged Ridge has a small block that goes into a hitch receiver as well that is nice and compact and light.

Attachments

Reactions: cnyc31

cnyc31

Rank 0

Contributor I

Santa Fe, NM, USA
First Name
Christian
Last Name
Monsen
If it is set up for a D-ring I would say yes you can use it with any other brand of setup I just wouldn't use it with the hitch pin in the hole in the hitch. I know some people do but I really wouldn't recommend it. Rugged Ridge has a small block that goes into a hitch receiver as well that is nice and compact and light.