Best Wheel/Tire Combo for Daily Driver??

• HTML tutorial

theBROFESSOR

Rank VI
Launch Member

Influencer II

Conway, Arkansas
Member #

I will admit I am new at this. First thing I want to do with my build is to add the right combo for wheels and tires. I am in Central AR and my FJ Cruiser is my daily driver. I will also be traveling out of state a lot to visit other places. What wheel and tire combo do you recommend? What has worked good for you?

Things I factor in:

Road Noise
Wear (good number of miles)
Off road capability

Thank you for all of your help in advance...

Jeffrey Richards

Rank V
Launch Member

Enthusiast III

Bakersfield
Member #

I had 31”mud Tires at first
To noisy for me plus I only got 26000 miles out of them.
Now I run 35s BF goodwrench with an Aggressive all Terrain. Love them smooth ride noise is gone
Pro comp rims with a 3.5 lift

Sent from my iPhone using OB Talk

khorsa

Rank III

Advocate II

michigan
Well, if you are not hitting hard stuff I would say either BFG all terrain or the Pro Comp all terrain which comes with a 50k mile warranty. If you want a mud tire, then again, Pro Comp with their 40k mile warranty.

As for rims, I personally always run the smallest diameter rim that I can fit. More sidewall = more flex = softer ride both on and off road.

theBROFESSOR

Rank VI
Launch Member

Influencer II

Conway, Arkansas
Member #

Well, if you are not hitting hard stuff I would say either BFG all terrain or the Pro Comp all terrain which comes with a 50k mile warranty. If you want a mud tire, then again, Pro Comp with their 40k mile warranty.

As for rims, I personally always run the smallest diameter rim that I can fit. More sidewall = more flex = softer ride both on and off road.
Awesome Thank you. Never have tried Pro Comp but I did like some BFG's I had in the past. Still a mud tire to get 40k miles is not bad. But the road noise is usually pretty bad. Especially if I'm having to travel 20 hours to Utah or somewhere like that.