Bear Country

• HTML tutorial

Dana

Rank V
Launch Member

Enthusiast III

Reno, NV
Member #

Ok total novice here. I have done hiking and such.
My question is, what do overlanders do in bear country with onboard fridges and the like? When I hiked a lot we would hang our food and other bear attracting items from a tree. Thanks and sorry if there is a thread on this.

Edit, sorry just saw there is another similar thread.

pierceg

Rank V
Launch Member

Enthusiast I

Missoula, MT
Member #

Fridge is in the truck.
Food is in the fridge.
If booboo wants my picnic basket he will have to work for it. A little bit anyway.

Reactions: HEYElliott

MA_Trooper

Rank VI
Launch Member

Influencer II

Methuen, MA
First Name
Chris
Last Name
BRV
Member #

If it's inside the fridge in the rig it's most likely fine. food laying out on the seat may get a bear interested. They have been known to go for it. But the likelihood you will will have a bear in the wilderness trying to get into your rig is pretty slim. Its campgrounds and state/national parks where bears are accustomed to people bringing food with them that you need to really be diligent. I find that anything interested in the car will be scared off by unlocking and locking the car with the remote. The lights flash once and the animals flee. Not everyone has that option though.

1derer

Rank V
Launch Member

Traveler II

Carlsbad, CA, USA
First Name
user
Last Name
name
Member #

I have seen many bears (Never had one come into camp) haven't had a problem when in remote areas as Chris has mentioned in National Parks and high traffic areas bears get bold, out in the forest very reluctant to come into camp and if so easily scared off, such as horn, lights, camp fire helps but I do like having a can of bear spray handy.

Reactions: Craig M

Craig M

Rank VI
Launch Member

Advocate III

Haslet, Texas, USA
First Name
Craig
Last Name
M
Member #