• HTML tutorial

Darren01

Rank III
Launch Member

Advocate II

Hope Mills, North Carolina
Member #

Hello all,

So I am currently studying and going to take my Technician license test at the end of January. I recently bought a Kenwood TM-281A HAM radio and am looking for antenna recommendations. I’m really still trying to learn all the ins and outs but Commo has never been my strong suit. But I’d like to get my setup all ready and installed in my rig so when I get my license I can transmit. Thanks I’m advance and apologize if this is another newb question.

Attachments

TerryD

Rank VI
Launch Member

Member III

Covington, Virginia, USA
First Name
Terry
Last Name
R
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
KT4OZ
Congrats on trying to become a ham! Hope your test goes well.

As for antennas, I've had very good luck with a simple Tram NMO dual band from Amazon.

TRAM 140MHz-170MHz + 430MHz-470MHz Dual Band NMO Antenna

For $13 they are disposable should they be damaged and I've easily worked repeaters over 30 miles away on 5 watts. It's taken a few hits and the local dealership ram it up against the roof lifting my Xterra up last year to work on the radiator. It was bent but I straightened it easily and it still performs great.

I run it on a lip-mount NMO mount on the side of my rear hatch with the coax routed above the headliner. The only issue I've had with that is my daughter closed my 6m antenna in the rear door just as my wife slammed the hatch closed, tearing the antenna off the hatch. I managed to straighten it with a little work in the vice and it's worked fine since as well.

Reactions: Darren01

Flipper

Rank V
Launch Member

Member III

Florida
First Name
John
Last Name
F
Member #