An Idiot Wonders About Solar

• HTML tutorial

Zaq

Rank III

Advocate II

Ill be the first to tell you, I am a complete idiot when it comes to any and all electrical things. I graduated college with a degree in automotive, and cant tell you left from right when it comes to watts, volts, amps, etc. (Guess thats why i became a body man)

I have a basic question, that I couldnt seem to find searching around all the other solar panel threads, maybe I missed it.

Anyways,
So, I am planning on getting a fridge (Dometic 65) to run on trips. I used my bosses last year (ARB50) on a two week trip, had a brand new battery in the truck. Everything was just fine the whole trip. Well, now once I get my own fridge, and have more trips planned, I was thinking about grabbing some sort of solar panel trickle charger or something to throw on the battery while parked at camp. I have a new AGM battery. Now, i know alot of you have full blown solar setups with huge panels and different controllers, going into your dual battery setups, and all that fancy stuff. But, for someone who isnt looking to get a loan out just for an auxiliary battery setup, would a simple trickle charger style solar panel be okay?

Im just looking for something to plug in at camp, to help keep peace of mind really, with keeping the battery topped off. The trips I do, Im moving everyday, driving alot. But, again, its more of a piece of mind thing I guess. Looks like there are some cheaper trickle charge solar panels online. Any recommendations? Do i need some sort of meter or something to make sure it doesnt overcharge it? Yeah, serious mental blockage for me when it comes to this stuff.

Laman terms please, this one is slightly stoopid. :tearsofjoy:

THANKS!!!!

Reactions: Luis Merlo

Longshot270

Rank V
Launch Member

Experimenter I

DFW, TX
First Name
Colby
Last Name
M
Member #