Cael528

Rank I

Contributor III

Hainesport, Burlington County, New Jersey, United States
First Name
Cael
Last Name
Johnson
Hello, I have a 2023 Willy’s 4xE JL. I am looking to add KC (or another off road brand) lights and have them attached to the A-pillar. My jeep does not come with the factory auxiliary switches in the cab. My question come from the installation of the light switch. Do I need to buy a switch with a relay box? Do I need a relay box at all? Is it easier/cheaper to buy them separately? Thanks I’m a total noob with this stuff.

Wanderlost

Rank VI
Launch Member

Member III

Caledonia, Illinois
Member #

Your safest bet would be to get a kit that includes all the right gauge wires, relay, and switch. People very often miscalculate the amps being drawn through components, especially switches. Many will have lights that draw 10 - 15 amps and direct it through a switch that's only rated for <5 amps. That's a great way to start a catastrophic fire.

Cael528

Rank I

Contributor III

Hainesport, Burlington County, New Jersey, United States
First Name
Cael
Last Name
Johnson
Your safest bet would be to get a kit that includes all the right gauge wires, relay, and switch. People very often miscalculate the amps being drawn through components, especially switches. Many will have lights that draw 10 - 15 amps and direct it through a switch that's only rated for <5 amps. That's a great way to start a catastrophic fire.
Gotcha! Thanks man I appreciate the help.

MazeVX

Rank VI
Launch Member

Influencer II

Gießen Germany
First Name
Mathias
Last Name
Kreicker
Member #

Hey you might want to look into the kit from Lasfit, it replaces the original aux switch/blinds and comes with a switch box.
There are YouTube reviews available.

Reactions: Cael528

MidOH

Rank IV

Off-Road Ranger I

Mid Ohio
First Name
John
Last Name
Clark
Ham/GMRS Callsign
YourHighness
Rigid 360 are good ditch lights on the pillar. But angled out.