702FJC

Rank III

Contributor III

Las Vegas
First Name
Joe
Last Name
R
Just curious what some of you guys are running as far as tire pressure goes? Have you ever rolled a bead because you got too low? I've been rolling around 26 to 28 PSI on my FJ. But I've been watching videos and seeing guys going much lower than that. Not talking sand but more of your typical rocky off-road trail.

Last edited:
Reactions: bmwguru

bmwguru

Rank V
Launch Member

Influencer I

Indianapolis, IN, USA
First Name
Jim
Last Name
Pickrell
Member #

Just curious what some of you guys are running as far as tire pressure goes? Have you ever rolled a bead because you got too low? I've been rolling around 26 to 28 PSI I've been watching videos and see guys go much lower than that. not talking sand but more of your typical rocky off-road trail.
I'm new to the overlanding stuff but I see a lot of people running 18psi for offroad travels. Much lower than that and bead locks may be required. The Staun tire delfators come pre set to 18psi if that helps. I have run 18psi and have not rolled a bead...yet.

Reactions: BCBrian and 702FJC

DrivingTacoLoco

Rank V
Launch Member

Member III

Winston-Salem, NC, USA
First Name
Rich
Last Name
Weiss
Member #

I've been running at 20 PSI. Regular is 20 on door frame. I'm not sure 29 is correct based on the size of tires, lift and weight of vehicle. I just got chalk to run a test but it has been raining and I've been looking for a flat area.

Reactions: 702FJC

2RiversRanchExpeditions

Rank V
Launch Member

Traveler II

Dayville, OR, USA
First Name
Joe
Last Name
Letosky
Member #

We have been running 18 PSI for about 2 years now anytime we are off pavement. The wife has some back pain problems here and there so we air down whether its a decent forest service road or a really rocky 4-low trail. Have not had any issues. Makes everything MUCH more comfortable.

Last edited:
Reactions: BCBrian and 702FJC

Boostpowered

Rank VI

Member III

Hunt county, TX, USA