What is your preferred shelter? (Rooftop Tent vs Ground Tent vs Etc...)

• HTML tutorial

What is your preferred shelter?

• Total voters

MotoHop

Rank I
Launch Member

Contributor I

Portage Lakes, OH, USA
First Name
Matt
Last Name
Hopkins
Member #

I'm new to the overlanding scene, and I'm trying to make some decisions about my rig/gear. I'll normally be by myself. My girlfriend may potentially tag along, but she'd prefer to take the camper (Coachmen Clipper 17FQ) if she's coming with me. So with all of the experience/knowledge in the OB community, I'd love to hear what style of shelter others prefer to sleep in. Drown me in details of why you prefer a specific shelter style, past experiences with other shelter styles, and maybe the make/model of your current favorite. Thanks!

Last edited:
Reactions: TeamHooty

Boostpowered

Rank VI

Member III

Hunt county, TX, USA
First Name
Justin
Last Name
Davis
Member #

I prefer ground tents. No climbing, easier to put a tarp over for extra shelter, way cheaper than other options , less weight. You look less cool but have extra to spend elsewhere. Edit after staying on the beach over thanksgiving and having to sleep in the front seat due to high wind im going to turn my old farm trailer into a camping trailer aka mini rv.
20191214_115441.jpg

Last edited:

Salty4Life

Rank V

Pathfinder III

Loxahatchee, FL, USA
First Name
John
Last Name
Larsen
Member #

I prefer ground tents or just sleep in the truck if I’m solo. RTTs are cool when your actually using them, but they are a PITA to to store, install and remove when your not using them. Unless you plan to throw it up there and leave it, to me it’s more trouble than it’s worth.
I have the gazelle t3 ground tent. I love it. My wife can set it up and tear it down by herself in under 5 minutes. When I’m solo, I use a queen size foam mattress topper folded in half, and twin size sheets in the back seat of my truck.

grubworm

Rank V
Launch Member

Member III

louisiana