Delkat

Rank III
Launch Member

Enthusiast III

San Francisco Bay Area CA
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
KN6AET
I'm new to using the GAIA app but was playing with it today while on an airplane from San Jose to LA. I thought it was supposed to be able to use the GPS even without cell service to track a route. I started recording a track during take off in San Jose. My location icon didn't move from San Jose until I landed in LA and got cell service. In reviewing much of the on-line GAIA help videos, my understanding was that it would even work in airplane mode.

I didn't download any of the maps for the route but I thought it would plot a general course on the CA outline that come up on the app.

It seemed like the day before on a similar trip, it was routing and even showing the altitude of the plane.

Any ideas as to what I'm doing wrong?

brien

Sonoran Space Program
Staff member

Off-Road Ranger I

Tucson, AZ
First Name
Brien
Last Name
Wankel
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
K7XPO
Gaia has no issues continuing to record with no cell signal. I suspect your issue was with GPS reception inside the airplane. Since a metal tube is not dissimilar to a Faraday cage, I suspect you were not able to get a decent GPS connection from inside the plane. If you held your device against the window you may have had better luck.

To prove to yourself that it works in airplane mode *outside* of an airplane, put your device in airplane mode, start recording a track, and walk around on your driveway or a parking lot. You should see it properly recording, even if you haven't downloaded any offline maps yet.

FWIW: I almost always have my phone in airplane mode when we're out exploring since it saves considerable amount of battery. GPS always still works for me, and Gaia always still records correctly.

Delkat

Rank III
Launch Member

Enthusiast III

Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
KN6AET