trip ideas/routes for areas west of L.A (Joshua Tree)

• HTML tutorial

dbrum

Rank I
Launch Member

Contributor I

SFO
Member #

Just got my first rig.

Need advice on where to go for a weekend trip (Friday to Sunday kind of thing) from L.A area. This would be in August when son is flying in with a close friend of his for a weekend overland trip.

Looking for suggestions on where to go, where to start and maps/routes. I'm a novice overland driver, but have many years experience doing this on enduro bikes and just getting into the truck overland scene. Don't want to go anywhere I would not be able to get out of on my own and have 2 late teen kids with me need to be mindful of. Looking for light trails, nice scenery we can camp on (RTT + ground tent). Ideally run into some ghost towns and also some interesting places in say Joshua Tree area to see some of the areas residents and take some pics and buy some souvenirs.

Any pointers or where I can get more of this info?

thanks

dbrum

Rank I
Launch Member

Contributor I

SFO
Member #

Nope, only part of SoCal I know is Death Valley which I did on bikes only.

sdrnr

Rank II
Launch Member

Contributor III

San Diego