Cburck84

Rank 0

Contributor I

Satsuma, FL, USA
First Name
Christopher
Last Name
Burck
Beginner here looking to throw a rooftop tent that weighs 170lbs on top my 2019 crostrekk, do i need special crossbars or platform to support that weight, if so can I get some recommendations bc the subaru aero bars specifically say they DO NOT SUPPORT ROOFTOP TENTS, despite seeing them installed myself. They weren't 170lbs tents either tho. Please help.

Pathfinder I

Canada
First Name
Craig
Last Name
PereferNotToSay
Your user manual will (should) tell you what your Roof Load Limit is. This should be presented using two numbers -- a static load rating and your dynamic load rating.

Your dynamic load rating should be at a minimum strong enough to carry your RTT and whatever else you might put in there -- 10 lbs of bedding for instance -- and if I were in your shoes I'd be looking for room to spare (i.e. if I had 180 lbs of tent, I'd want 210 lbs of capacity so there was some buffer).

Your static rating needs to be strong enough for the weight of your tent, any stuff you bring up there, and the people -- so several hundred pounds more than the dynamic load.

And finally, some cars will say "not suitable for tents" because they don't have a flat roof. That might be the reason Subaru say "No Roof Tents" -- looking at Google Images, it looks like the roof isn't flat, so your tent might always be tilted to the rear of the vehicle (but I may be looking at the photos wrong).

Also what tent do you have? 170 lbs is a lot for an RTT; even the big ones usually max out at 150 lbs from what I've seen (though I've not looked at this for a few years). If you are seeing a tent that says it's shipped weight is 170s lbs, that might include it's packaging, and so the actual tent may be a bit lighter.

Cburck84

Rank 0

Contributor I

Satsuma, FL, USA
First Name
Christopher
Last Name
Burck