Cincinnati, OH, USA
First Name
James
Last Name
Childs
Member #

Service Branch
Army
So I just purchased a 97 TJ over the weekend. The steering feels really loose. I’m new to the jeep world too. Below are some pics of some bushings on the front end. Can anyone tell me what needs to be replaced to tighten up my steering? All bushings in pictures are trashed but don’t know which ones they are.

Attachments

hey_poolboy

Rank III

Enthusiast II

Peoria, IL, USA
First Name
Michael
Last Name
Robertson
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
Maximus
So I just purchased a 97 TJ over the weekend. The steering feels really loose. I’m new to the jeep world too. Below are some pics of some bushings on the front end. Can anyone tell me what needs to be replaced to tighten up my steering? All bushings in pictures are trashed but don’t know which ones they are.
My daughters both have TJs and my wife drives a JKU. Start with lifting the front end up and see if you have any pay in the ball joints by pushing/pulling on the to of each wheel. You shouldn't have any movement.
If the ball joints check out, look at tie rod ends and the drag link.
I'm not certain about TJ but the steering box on JK are prone to becoming pretty sloppy with age. I need to replace mine according to my alignment guy.

Reactions: OVRLANDnoob

OVRLANDnoob

Rank III

Enthusiast III

Cincinnati, OH, USA
First Name
James
Last Name
Childs
Member #

Service Branch
Army
My daughters both have TJs and my wife drives a JKU. Start with lifting the front end up and see if you have any pay in the ball joints by pushing/pulling on the to of each wheel. You shouldn't have any movement.
If the ball joints check out, look at tie rod ends and the drag link.
I'm not certain about TJ but the steering box on JK are prone to becoming pretty sloppy with age. I need to replace mine according to my alignment guy.