• HTML tutorial

Travis Adams

Rank I
Launch Member

Contributor I

Nelson, BC, Canada
Member #

Hey Folks!

I'm new to the page, and new to overlanding with just purchasing a 1st Gen Tacoma. I'll try to keep it brief.

My current setup is with a canopy on the back and sleeping in the box of the truck. I'm really wanting to get a rear bumper with the tire mount swing, but I'm not sure how it would work with sleeping inside at night. I can't imagine there could be enough room between the tire and the canopy hatch to get it open in order to unlatch the tire to swing it back.

Just wondering if anyone has rigged up a fix for this scenario!

(I apologize if this has already been brought up, I certainly tried to dig for it)

Boort

Rank V
Launch Member

Member III

Colorado
Member #

@Travis Adams
Hey Folks!
My current setup is with a canopy on the back and sleeping in the box of the truck. I'm really wanting to get a rear bumper with the tire mount swing, but I'm not sure how it would work with sleeping inside at night. I can't imagine there could be enough room between the tire and the canopy hatch to get it open in order to unlatch the tire to swing it back.

Just wondering if anyone has rigged up a fix for this scenario!
Welcome from another 1st Gen rider. I've been sleeping in the back of my Tacoma for nearly 20 years and can say a lot will depend on 2 things:
1) Where do you camp?
2) Design of swingout and it's latch.

Regarding #1 if you are wilderness camping you just lock it open before crawling in to the bed for the night. If you are "camping" in locations where you need to look like you're just parked and the swingout needs to be closed then on to #2.