AKASubway

Rank 0

Contributor II

Buenos Aires, Argentina
First Name
Dante
Last Name
Frigerio
Hi! I'm a beginner overlander one could say. I'm living in Buenos Aires and with a couple of friends have started to plan to drive the Pan American Highway during the summer of 2024-2025. We are college students and thus have a time constraint so we'll make the trip one way and fly the other. Would appreciate any veteran tips on the decision of starting off in Argentina and driving to Alaska or the other way around.

Is there any forum or website where overlanders buy and sell vehicles? Because our idea was to either buy a car in the US and sell it to an overlander in Argentina or vice versa. Also, how should we go about finding insurance? I'm under the understanding that car insurance is really costly if you are under 25 (which is our case), is there any way to circumvent this? (Also might be selling a 96 Land Rover Defender 110 with argentine plates in the US or Canada if anyone is interested).

In conclusion, we don't have a clue what we are doing and would appreciate any suggestions regarding budgeting, routes, sites to visit, things to look out for when buying a car, saftey tips, etc... (basically anything)
Kind regards,
Subway

socal66

Rank V
Launch Member

Advocate I

Covina, CA, USA
First Name
Carl
Last Name
Sampson
Member #