Launch Member

Enthusiast I

Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA
First Name
David
Last Name
Alaniz
Member #

Hello all. My name is Dave and I guess I’m new to overlanding. Unless, car camping is considered “vintage” overlanding, then I’m a pro. I was a surfer, hiker, backpacker, car camper, and even a tent-trailer rv’er. I say “was” because I’ve been dealing with a Motor Neuron Disease over the past 10 years, or so. Specifically, I have PLS (Primary Lateral Sclerosis) which is basically the non-fatal version of ALS. One can say my quality of life has diminished and I’m always searching for a spark of inspiration to motivate me beyond sitting on the couch. Recently I purchased a brand new Jeep Rubicon. I have wanted a Jeep since I was in my 20s but life always turned me in the opposite direction every time I thought I might get one. I’m now 55 years old, retired and sporting a neurological disease; of course I bought a Jeep! Before and after my acquisition I was researching the internet looking at all the different mods. And it was during this searching that I found out about overlanding. I came across Trail Recon, Lifestyle Overland , The Epic Family Roadtrip, and, of course, Overland Bound. Watching all the beautiful locations and the beautifully built rigs which make it possible to get to those locations sparked and rekindled my love for the outdoors and wide open spaces. But, I was soon to find out that my motivation to pack up my new Jeep and return to the wilderness was soon to be slapped back by reality. The reality being: I can‘t stand up on my own for more than a 10 seconds without falling down, I can barely walk even with a walker, I can’t lift more than 10 lbs without paying for it later with painfully stiff muscles. The only way I get around with any agility is sitting in an electric wheelchair. It sounds ominous looking back over this but I’m trying to look past the roadblocks, to find detours that will allow me to Overland. The small steps I’ve taken so far have