North Richland Hills, TX 76180, USA
First Name
Doug
Last Name
Faries
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
W5FPK
I know everyone has their favorite. I'm new to overlanding and HAM. I've narrowed my choice for a mobile / base radio to two. I really like the ICOM ID-5100 A Deluxe and the Yaesu FTM-400. Any pros or cons on either of these radios? They are both somewhat at the top end of my budget.

Thanks!

Reactions: Eddy G

M Rose

Local Expert
Mod Team

Advocate III

Northeast Oregon, United States
First Name
Michael
Last Name
Rose
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
W7FSB
Service Branch
US ARMY Retired
I know everyone has their favorite. I'm new to overlanding and HAM. I've narrowed my choice for a mobile / base radio to two. I really like the ICOM ID-5100 A Deluxe and the Yaesu FTM-400. Any pros or cons on either of these radios? They are both somewhat at the top end of my budget.

Thanks!
Both are excellent radios. I guess it comes down to if your area is using Wires X or using DSTAR repeaters.

Reactions: Jacob McCandles

Eddy G

Rank III
Launch Member

Member III

Guyton, GA, USA
First Name
Ed
Last Name
Gagne
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
KN3DDY
I have 2 Icom ID-5100 . Love them both. I mainly went with the Icom becuse of the D-star capability. It has been a rock solid radio.

Reactions: Jacob McCandles

Prerunner1982

Local Expert, Oklahoma USA
Launch Member

Member III

Navina, Oklahoma
First Name
Jon
Last Name
B
Member #

Doug, is APRS of any interest to you? If so the FTM-400 would be the go to of the two you listed otherwise as noted it may depend on the digital voice protocol of choice. If aren't interested in either of those (APRS or Digital Voice) then you can't really go wrong with either. You might consider making a run up to Ham Radio Outlet in Plano to get some hands on with them and see what UI is more intuitive. Call them first to see if their showroom is open and if they have both of those radios on working display.

M Rose

Local Expert
Mod Team

Advocate III