Looking for an easy/low moderate trail to camp and get initiated (Base is San Joaquin Cnty)

• HTML tutorial

RedHerring

Rank I

Enthusiast I

San Joaquin County, California, United States
First Name
Keith
Last Name
Fisher
I just bought my first 4x4 vehicle and I’m just getting into overlanding. Never have done any 4x4 trails in my life. I’m a bit intimidated by large groups (due to my lack of experience and knowledge at the moment) and I just want to get out there and cut my teeth on a small trip or two before the season is out. My goal is to just visit some nice secluded or semi-secluded places to enjoy the adventure and camp. I’m really excited to get started.

I’ve been watching so many videos, reading so many forums/topics, and seeing so many apps and sources that I’m just overwhelmed on where to start haha!

Was just kind of looking for recommendations on beautiful places to go that would suit my level.
Recommendations on absolute necessary items I may not be thinking of, and any tips anyone would be willing to share.

I’m well versed in camping provisions but overlanding gear, obviously not at all. I’m aware going solo is not the best idea the further deep and moderate trails you do, so I’m not quite sure how to handle that but that’s why I’m here, to hopefully make new friends, memories, and adventures.

I’m from San Joaquin County. I have a 2022 GMC Canyon AT4 V6 Crew Cab 4x4 all stock, w/ 265/65R17 Goodyear Wrangler Duratrac tires. I haven’t made any performance type mods yet as I want to make sure I fully understand what I want and need before jumping in.

I’m sorry if this is the wrong area to post. There are so many forums sub categories I didn’t know where would be best.

Reactions: Mark E and Ubiety

Ubiety

Rank VI

Explorer I

Sammamish, WA, USA
First Name
Greg
Last Name
Ubiety
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
Ribs