Jeep onboard running water system.

• HTML tutorial

Contributor III

Hey there. I am building an onboard water system for my Jeep JKU. I already have the pump, filters, hoses, fittings etc all necessary components except for the tank.

I am an automotive engineer so I have already been thinking about several solutions.

I’m thinking about one of the front runner tanks, I have head people like the 13 gallon slant tank from front runner for behind the rear seat. Just worried about poor fitment and being disappointed with the amount of interior space it takes up..

I have a dual air compressor and tank mounted in the empty space between the frame rail and rear driveshaft so I’m thinking of having the exhaust shortened to before the axle and another muffler installed with a down turn/ side dump then the space gained from removing the stock muffler will allow me to mount a tank and skid plate

I do not want to carry water on the roof rack (for what should be obvious reasons)

What do you guys think? Any suggestions are welcome!

bgenlvtex

Rank V
Launch Member

Member III

Texas
First Name
Bruce
Last Name
Evans
Member #

You're talking about removing the transverse mounted muffler that is immediately behind the rear bumper and replacing it with a tank?

Than turning the exhaust out the side of the jeep immediately in front of the rear tire?

Sounds like a solid plan to me, although I think I would build the tank out of stainless and use an exhaust routing to the rear (Magnaflow rock crawler or similar), in which case the worst happening is you have warm(er) water. I would however make sure there is a drain and clean bung on the tank.

My experiences with exhaust in front of the rear tires have not been entirely pleasant, and I prefer to keep exit as far away from the passenger cabin as possible. Idling/stuck with exhaust that close is a no go for me.

Jason Shelby

Rank VII
Investor

Creator III

Lexington, Henderson County, Tennessee, United States
First Name
Jason