Initial "spooling" instructions for new winch, I had no idea!

• HTML tutorial

offroadkid

Rank V
Launch Member

Enthusiast III

Shingle Springs, El Dorado County, California, United States
First Name
Joshua
Last Name
Whitgob
Member #

I couldn't find a good category to post this so I'll post it here and see where it is most suited!

After installing our new Warn winch, I studied the PDF instructions in the manual provided on Warn's website. I had no idea that after installation, there is another step prior to use which is spooling in under a load onto the drum! Anyone else know this? I'll post below the steps!

From the Warn Operator's Manual...

"The life of a wire rope is directly related to the use and care it receives. During its first use, a new wire rope must be spooled onto its drum under a load of at least 1000 lbs. (454 kgs). Use the following instructions to properly stretch the wire rope onto the winch drum.

1) Choose a FLAT AND LEVEL location that is large enough to run out the entire length of wire rope.

2) Turn the clutch lever on the winch to the “Free Spool” position. Spool out the wire rope to the last 5 wraps on the drum. Once the wire rope is spooled out, turn the clutch lever on the winch to the “Engaged” position.

3) Attach the hook end of the rope to a suitable anchor point and back the vehicle away from the anchor point until there is very little slack in the wire rope. Before getting out of the vehicle, set the parking brake, place the vehicle in gear or park and turn the vehicle off.