Launch Member

Contributor I

Middle Tennessee
First Name
Matthew
Last Name
Flatt
Member #

I need more storage space for my camping gear and I am thinking of getting a Harbor Freight Hitch Mounted Cargo Rack to use temporarily until i can afford a roof rack. does anyone have any experience using a Hitch Mounted Cargo Rack for Overlanding? I will only be doing mild trails and forest roads because my jeep is basically stock with mud tires and a winch. Any advice or opinions will be appreciated as I am new to Overlanding and off roading in general.

Road

Not into ranks, titles or points.
Launch Member

Advocate III

On the road in North America
First Name
Road
Last Name
Dude
Member #

Not familiar with the HF cargo rack, but had a Hitch-Haul as seen below. I liked that it came in halves, which I rotated and planned to use on the tongue 'deck' of one of the 1/4 ton military trailers I was messing with.

HitchHaul-cargocarrier.png

That particular one is no longer available, at least for now, though there are a ton of other options.

I know from experience that not all hitch mounted cargo carriers are equal in stability or strength. They range from cheaply made and flimsy imports to the rugged and very stable PakMule Cargo Carriers meant more for off-road. You can see more of the Pakmule carriers in action on various vehicles on their insta at @PakMule. I've seen the PakMule carrier in person down in the borderlands last year, on the truck owned by the company. It's an impressive, well-designed bit of kit.

Seen a ton of others in action, too, among the expedited delivery crowd as well as hunters, who both will put hitch-mounted cargo carriers on their front hitch receiver to carry small generators, firewood, etc. I may do that myself for my front hitch receiver after I install it.

Things to watch for with a hitch cargo carrier and going backcountry, even if not serious off-road, will be: