Oakland CA
First Name
Stephen
Last Name
Williams
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign
KN6QBJ
Mendocino county website says the Fort Bragg Sherwood road was closed November 15 2020. Is there a work around on this?

I ask, as I am just getting started and went to Usal Beach last week and fell in love. I just spent 3 days at the beach - it is good to be retired. I also need some time just playing with all the gear. I had thought I could head north to Four Corners etc, but Usal Road north of Usal beach was gated and closed, same as Fort Bragg Sherwood. However - I also hiked from Usal beach to Timber point and came back on the Timber Haul Road that becomes the Hotel Gulch Road and that was clearly seeing some traffic. I wondered if that allowed a work around the closed Usal Road? I am completely new to this, and was alone, and I walked passed a washed out culvert with a bypass in the creek that was kinda tight - I would not be game to even try on my own at this point though I am sure my lifted 4Runner is 100% capable. My driving skills are still very untested, as are my recovery skills.

I will be at Van Damme State Park with a friend next week to do some day hikes, and I thought that Fort Bragg Sherwood Road might be an interesting way to head home to the Bay Area. Gaia maps shows a number of other road sections that might be alternatives. I also do not need to do damage to trails. I assume some people actually live there, and need the road to get home.

I do have a group trip booked to the Lost Coast in May, so I hope to have another go at Usal Road area with some experienced company.

etsuno

Rank 0

Contributor I

Alameda, CA
First Name
Eton
Last Name
Tsuno
Hi,

I don't know the answer to any of your questions, but I am just starting too and was going to take my family to Usal this weekend. Were there many people there? Thanks in advance!

Clayton Ball

Rank II
Launch Member

Off-Road Ranger I

Santa Rosa, CA, USA
First Name
Clayton
Last Name
Ball
Member #

Ham/GMRS Callsign