Rank II

Contributor II

1320 12th Street, Greeley, Colorado 80631, United States
First Name
Joseph
Last Name
Rattle
Member #

Hey all, I need some help with ideas or direction for my build I want to do. I’ve got a 2005 Ford F-350 (Long Bed) so it’s a pretty big boy. I’ve got a leer truck topper for it and have played with the idea of getting rid of the topper. I’m totally new to this, (not the outdoors side, just the overlanding). Where should I even begin? Any advice for a newbie in the full size rig realm? Thanks!

North American Sojourner

Rank VI

Influencer I

Mid-Missouri, MO, USA
First Name
Dave
Last Name
Zimmer
Member #

Service Branch
USN (ret)
Hey all, I need some help with ideas or direction for my build I want to do. I’ve got a 2005 Ford F-350 (Long Bed) so it’s a pretty big boy. I’ve got a leer truck topper for it and have played with the idea of getting rid of the topper. I’m totally new to this, (not the outdoors side, just the overlanding). Where should I even begin? Any advice for a newbie in the full size rig realm? Thanks!
The topper provides security, protection from weather, a place to sleep, and other things. KEEP IT. LOL. I'm with that guy ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
Zim

Reactions: TCorona

MMc

Rank V

Influencer II

San Dimas, Ca.
First Name
Mike
Last Name
McMullen
Member #

I run a Ram 2500 4 door long bed running 315's with a Snug and a rack around the Snug for my toys. I have a insert for the bed with cargo fitting to secure my stuff while driving. My rig looks like a contractors truck more than a overlanding rig. I live a bit closer to the bone than most, the RTT, Gazelle tent, slide out kitchen, Scottie are not for me, I camp as well as anybody, what I do works for me.
Eight foot drawers are a pain, they pull out forever, it's easier for me to hop up in the back to get what I want. I do like to sleep under the stars so I will use the tarp for my ground tent to do so. I don't like stuff hanging off the truck,