Rank III

Contributor III

Houston, TX, USA
First Name
Piero
Last Name
Castillo Jr
Member #

I'm in the process of planning out the electrical system for my '21 Tacoma TRD Off-Road and want to do the wiring right as well as leaving room for future upgrades. However, I am very new to electrical work (I've done subwoofer installs way back when I was younger for my previous cars as well as for my friends but those were from tutorials and I know I didn't do everything correct).

Foundation:
- Single Battery (will stick with a single battery as I don't think I'll need a dual battery for the foreseeable future)
- Switch-Pros SP-9100 & PowerTrays Vertical Mount/Bracket w/ a Blue Sea Fuse Box & Bus Bar (8 switches + 6 additional fused connections should cover everything I'll ever need/want and no need for relays for everything connected to the switch-pros)

The following section is what I'm stuck on.

Currently Planned:
- 6x 20W Scene/Work Lights (I'm thinking maybe 4 on the roof rack facing the sides, 2 on the bed bars facing the rear OR 2 on the roof rack facing the sides, 4 on the bed bars with 2 facing the sides and 2 facing the rear).
- 12V Socket w/ USB wired to the bed (for fridge later on) + LED Strip Cargo Lights.

Questions:
1. Are 6 20W scene lights overkill? They'll be primarily used as camp lights and I believe I can dim the lights using the switch-pros if they are too bright but they can also serve as lights when driving off-road in the dark.
2. For the wiring harness (1 for the roof rack, 1 for the bed bars), here is the math. Please correct me if I'm wrong:
- 4 lights x 20W / 12V = 6.7A therefore 16 AWG or 14 AWG should be fine depending on the length of wire.
- 2 lights x 20W / 12v = 3.4A (will use same wire gauge since I'll be ordering 50')