Alpine Loop - Colorado: First Overland/Camping trip. Driving from Texas. Trip Planning.

• HTML tutorial

Ross Hoffman

Rank 0

Contributor II

Hey guys looking for some feedback on the routes I can take that would allow me to do all of the Alpine Loop. Also looking to do some dispersed camping a few days throughout. I'm very new to this and i haven't done any kind of offroading trip in my pickup yet, much less any stand alone camping.

So I guess first things first. I have a 2017 F250 FX4 shortbed. Pictures attached. It has a level kit installed, 37" falkens and running boards that offer a little more clearance. Before the trip I plan to install a diamondback bed cover and a RTT. Will this setup allow me to navigate most of the loop? I don't need to do any hardcore parts of the trail. My main concern that I can foresee is trying to go up a trail and then finding myself not being able to back out or turn around, especially with traffic behind me.

I plan to do this trip anywhere from late spring to late summer of this year, 2019. Is this a good time frame? What months and/or weeks during that time frame would be best to plan a trip? I heard around July 4th those trails are busy, Memorial Day weekend and some kind of big Jeep meetup that happens. I would like to avoid that kind of stuff as much as possible.

I plan to only camp out 2 or 3 nights and the other days would be staying in a hotel like Lake City, Ouray, Silverton and the like. This is to keep the girlfriend sane, and for her to buy in to this trip :) Is there anything I need to consider when it comes to camping out there? Paying for a pass, length of stay, spots not allowing camping and the like.

Next is "gear". I don't have much really. I know i could get carried away easily with that, but seeing as this is only a few days, what would yall recommend are absolutes for this trip? And then maybe items that are nice to have that may make things a bit more enjoyable?