Rank I

Traveler I

NC
First Name
Shawn
Last Name
Acheson
Member #

Hi All - I'm new to this overland world. I'll be updating my daily driver for some light trail driving....nothing crazy. I need to update the entire suspension. I'm running the original everything at 265k miles. It squeaks, it groans...its not happy. I want to maintain a comfortable ride and handling on the blacktop but I want to be able to ride some logging roads and forest service roads comfortably and safely. I would appreciate recommendations for the following:

tie rods
ball joints
upper control arms
front coils and shocks
rear leafs and shocks
front bumper (thinking about the ARB)
rock sliders
tires (thinking about BFG K02s...I've got the factory 6 spoke Enkei wheels which are 16" diameter and I think they are 8" wide...)

Would appreciate thoughts and suggestions.

Be well,
Shawn

Reactions: NiteSky

NiteSky

Rank IV

Enthusiast III

Shoreline, Washington 98155, United States
First Name
Tim
Last Name
McCabe
Member #

Hi All - I'm new to this overland world. I'll be updating my daily driver for some light trail driving....nothing crazy. I need to update the entire suspension. I'm running the original everything at 265k miles. It squeaks, it groans...its not happy. I want to maintain a comfortable ride and handling on the blacktop but I want to be able to ride some logging roads and forest service roads comfortably and safely. I would appreciate recommendations for the following:

tie rods
ball joints
upper control arms
front coils and shocks
rear leafs and shocks
front bumper (thinking about the ARB)
rock sliders
tires (thinking about BFG K02s...I've got the factory 6 spoke Enkei wheels which are 16" diameter and I think they are 8" wide...)

Would appreciate thoughts and suggestions.

Be well,
Shawn
Hey Shawn, I also am slowly building up a first gen Tundra. Mine is an ‘03. I don’t know everything but I have a few recommendations: