• HTML tutorial

covello

Rank IV
Launch Member

Advocate III

Santa Monica, CA
Member #

Hey Everyone,

So I've been itching to get out again, I think I'll have a week or so free in June so planning to head to Grand Canyon, Monument Valley, Moab and Zion over 10/11 days.

I'm a photographer and director so obviously I'm into finding picturesque locations. They can be the famous ones we've all seen before, as I have never been to any of these places and I'd love to shoot that road in monument valley, horseshoe bend, arches etc.

Also, I'm traveling by myself and have somewhat limited experience overlanding, so I wouldn't want to go anywhere to remote incase of mechanical or electrical failure (which is quite possible when driving a 25 year old Mercedes truck)

I will be leaving from Santa Monica, California.

Here is my tentative schedule:

Day 1: Drive to south entrance Joshua tree (or similar) camp for the night. 160 miles

Day 2: Drive to Flagstaff area, camp there for the night. 350 miles

Day 3: Drive to Grand Canyon. 150 miles

Day 4: Horseshoe Bend

Day 5: Grand Staircase.

Day 6: Monument Valley. 140 miles.

Day 7: Moab. 150 miles.

Day 8: Arches

Day 9: Zion. 190 miles

Day 10: Zion

Day 11: Drive Home - Arrive Home or Camp one more night if you don't want to put in an 8 hr drive. All the way is 460 miles.

Questions:

1. Traveling by myself obviously my first concern is safety. I have a handheld CB radio that I have ZERO idea how to use. Is this sufficient? Or do I need one with an antennae attached to my car for it to be useful?

2. Maybe this should be the first question: can / should I do this trip solo? I figure these are mostly fairly populated areas. I would love to camp in BLM grounds for a better experience / photo ops, but again not really into going hours off road since I have limited recovery skills and no second vehicle traveling with me.